Home » Jesus of Wigan by Francis Garfitt
Jesus of Wigan Francis Garfitt

Jesus of Wigan

Francis Garfitt

Published July 14th 2013
ISBN :
Kindle Edition
842 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

Welcome to a new genre- punk religion, rock nroll Jesus, techo exergesis... whatever. Jesus of Wigan is less about the man himself and much more about the people around him, everyday people trying to make sense of a man who claims to be divine. IMoreWelcome to a new genre- punk religion, rock nroll Jesus, techo exergesis... whatever. Jesus of Wigan is less about the man himself and much more about the people around him, everyday people trying to make sense of a man who claims to be divine. I have taken the gospels and relocated the Holy Land to an England that has lost WWII, Ive swapped Nazareth for Wigan, Jerusalem for London... you get the picture.But does the story make any sense? The aim of writing the book was a personal creative act, to test the faith I was brought up in to destruction. I learned a great deal- some parts of the journey were breathtaking, some parts were pretty damn bleak.Im hoping the book follows in the tradition of Montaigne, Milton, Blake, Chesterton, Lewis, and Eliot. Im hoping this book is part of a pattern that challenges people and makes them think. I know Im not a beautiful writer, not yet. But Ill keep trying. One day, Id like to write a story that reads like a poem, like my heroes Norman Maclean and Alan Garner. Whatever the technical flaws in JOW, it has heart. I always thought Lucky Town was one of Springsteens best albums because it was under-produced and raw.Ive come to the conclusion that spiritual health is a cornerstone of mental health and happiness. I loathe the will to power that I see underneath religion, science, politics, business, and so on. But I also recognise that same will to power inside of me. The message that the verb of God left for us is a transformative one. The process is incredibly difficult. The hope, the faith, is that it is not impossible- that nobody is lost.JOW is pretty full on, it pulls punches, it cuts deep, the language reflects the depth of the emotion. Im not deliberatley trying to offend, and if it does I apologise. My only defence is that sometimes youve gotta call a spade a spade.